Shooting layers

I’ve always used to shot simple street photographs with single-subjects because I like having simplicity and order in my photos.

Nicolai-PT-hoyerswerda-germany-2016-3
Hoyerswerda, Germany 2016

But during my trip in Spain I tried to shot complicated street photographs adding more subjects. I used layers to show more of the caos of the Spanish streets but also to make more interesting photos and take my street photographs to the next level. Even if I tried this technique in the past.

Nicolai-PT-Figueres2017
Figueres, Spain 2017

When I try to shoot layered photographs I look mainly for a good background, a good light and a good balance between the different subjects in their different layers.

It’s challenging to get a good layered photo because I need to shoot more and often I need some luck to get a good photo.

Nicolai-PT-Barcelona2017-6
Barcelona, Spain 2017

This is the first time that I try to shoot layered photos, I know that these photos aren’t great but this is the start and in the future, with some exercise, I’d like to capture multiple-subjects with gestures, body-languages, and emotions.

Leave a Reply

