What photography means to me

Lately I was wondering about what photography means to me and why I take photos.

It all starts at the age of 16, where I only took photographs of the places I visited then, after a year, I discovered street photography and actually, at the age of 18, I’m trying to find a new meaning in photography, over capturing people emotions, and also make more personal photos.

nicolai-pt-projecthoyerswerda-2
Hoyerswerda, Germany 2015

Actually, my journey in photography (in the last two years), can be resumed into four steps:

1.  Make photos for the sake of making photos. When I first took a camera, without knowing any photography rule, I shot what I liked and the most important landmarks of the cities I visited.

nicolai-petito-dresden-germany2015-01
Dresden, Germany 2015

2.  Street photography first step. Capturing people walking through the streets without capturing emotions and without knowing any composition and street photography rules.

nicolai-petito-hoyerswerda2015
One of my first “street photographs” Hoyerswerda, Germany 2015

3. Street photography second step. Capturing people emotions and their souls after studying the works of the masters and their rules.

Nicolai-PT-hoyerswerda-germany-2016
One of my favourite photographs Hoyerswerda, Germany 2016

4. Trying to make more personal photos. Capturing all what is meaningful to me like: the place where I live; how I live; my journeys; capturing my closest people and all the stuff I like.

I must go personal in order to find meaning in the world and also to emphasize my soul in my photos.

20160504_173335-01-02
Southern Italy, 2016

When I first got started in photography, it was a way to capture beauty in the mundane but now photography, for me, is a way to create a connection between souls with the people I photograph. It’s a way to find meaning in the world.

At the end I like to define myself a human being that tries to find meaning in the world through photography.

Leave a Reply

