Why I love street photography

HOW I DISCOVERED STREET PHOTOGRAPHY

It all starts with a normal digital camera and than I discover street photography. It was a normal day, I was surfing the net when suddenly I come across images that represented ordinary moments on the streets, with or without people. I was amazed  of this genre of photography, I made some researches about it and discovered that its name was street photography.

nicolai-pt-hoyerswerda-germany-2016-11
Hoyerswerda, Germany 2016

I searched all the stuff about it: images, photographers, and documents on how to make a great street photograph.

I was excited. But I had fear. Fear of shooting strangers, fear of their reactions, fear of being judged by other more talented street photographers and that I was not good at it.

Nicolai-PT-hoyerswerda-germany-2016
Hoyerswerda, Germany 2016

I broke up all this thoughts, took my smartphone, went out on the streets, experimented, learned the rules of composition, learned to observe and still now, after more than a year shooting street photography, I am learning.

Every day I’m happy to have discovered photography and especially street photography because it gave me the opportunity to express myself.

nicolai-pt-cottbus-germany-2016-1
Cottbus, Germany 2016

WHY I LOVE STREET PHOTOGRAPHY

  • I like street photography because it helps me to observe with attention common objects.
  • Street photography allows me to be more curious and explore my hometown.
  • Street photography has made me a more patient person and a person that accepts failure.
  • Street photography allows me to document my era.
  • I love street photography because it helps me to improve to make boring things, of a small town, interesting.
  • Street photography helps me to improve every day and to let out the best from any situation.
  • I like street photography because it challenges me to go out from my comfort zone. I love challenges.
  • Street photography has helped me to have a voice, to share my view of the world.
  • I like street photography for his utility for the future generations because it’s all on capturing the way we actually live, that, when times goes on, will change.
Nicolai-PT-hoyerswerda-germany-2016-9
Hoyerswerda, Germany 2016
Leave a Reply

