Street photography is a way to discover yourself

Shooting street photography is not only a way to capture peoples emotions’ and their souls, during a normal day, but is also a way to discover who you are.

Nicolai-PT-germany2016-2
Self portrait – Hoyerswerda, Germany 2016

Sincerly I’ve learned more about myself since I’ve started shooting street photography than during all my life.

I’m an introverted human being which like to shot candidly without interrupt the scene, without been noticed by someone, shot often urban landscape, takes a lot of self portraits on reflective surfaces and take only a few shots of a scene. I like to create gloomy and sad black and white photography that express a sense of nostalgia, loneliness and sadness even if I’m not so gloomy.

Nicolai-PT-hoyerswerda-germany-2016-3
Hoyerswerda, Germany 2016

This time spent in Germany, which is almost finished (because I return in Italy on Saturday the 27th of August), has helped me to meditate on who I am and what direction my photography should take.

Nicolai-PT-hoyerswerda-germany-2016-4
Hoyerswerda, Germany 2016

 

Leave a Reply

